The Schuyler Blanket Project

bringing comfort to bereaved parents one square at a time

Gratitude November 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — schuylersmama @ 10:27 am

I am amazed every day by the generosity of knitters and crocheters. The Schuyler Blanket Project has grown beyond anything I could have hoped for in such a short period of time. Not only are the knitters/crocheters out there stepping up, but people who don’t knit and crochet are asking how they can help. I’ve received offers of space to sew blankets in, donations of yarn, donations of money to purchase supplies. It seems that most of us know someone who has lost a child. It’s not a club to which I wanted to belong and I certainly wouldn’t want to nominate anyone else for membership. However, since it happens, I am comforted by the thought that so many people want to help bring a bit of warmth to those who are grieving.

I’ve started a list of links on the sidebar. Some of them are resources for grieving families and those who love them. Some are resources for knitters/crocheters who would like to get involved. If you know of a relevant source, please feel free to share it in the comments.

Thank you.

 

2 Responses to “Gratitude”

  1. Lynette Elliott Says:

    Hi there. I’m the one who wrote the Blanketing Warmth article on KnitchMagazine.com. I recently saw a comment below the article saying that you had written to Knitch about your blanket project. I just want to tell you how touched I am that you felt compelled to respond to the article by sharing your story.

    I would love to help you with your project. I’m a knitter, a seamstress, a writer and a pattern designer. Please let me know how I can best contribute my skills to help you and all your supporters further your cause.

    Kindest regards,
    Lynette Elliott

    • Lynette, thank you so much for your lovely article. I’m so pleased that you felt our cause was worthy of your time. My husband is the one who originally wrote to Knitch. It was one of his Christmas presents to me. I’m amazed daily at the generosity of fiber artists.
      There are many ways for one to contribute. We have several blankets going at the moment that need squares. At the moment all of the blankets have sponsors, but there may come a time when we need a sponsor to collect and sew squares.
      Thank you again for your wonderful article. I appreciate it more than you know.
      Peace,
      Tammany


Leave a Reply

