The Schuyler Blanket Project

bringing comfort to bereaved parents one square at a time

For Mike September 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — schuylersmama @ 9:35 am

Mike lost his son, Sean, in an accident on June 11, 2011. Sean was 18 years old and had just graduated from high school. He played football and was planning on attending Villanova University. An article about Sean can be found here.

We will collect 42 8×8” squares for this blanket. Please use soft, washable fibers in neutral colors. Patterns should be simple. The due date for this blanket is October 31, 2011. To make a pledge, please email jeniferATschuylersblanketsDOTorg. Thank you.

 

6 Responses to “For Mike”

  1. Louise Lucas Says:

    Can you please check the email address for Jenifer, I tried sending a message, and it tells me the address is incorrect. Thanks

  2. Mike Says:

    You are replacing “AT” with “@” and “DOT” with “.”, right?

    It is typed with words to avoid spam bots from crawling pages, pulling out email addresses, and adding them to spam lists.

  3. Cheryl Moler Says:

    Dear Jennifer,

    My name is Cheryl Moler and I am new to the Schuyler Blanket Project and I would like to help out with some of the squares. May I ask is there a specific yarn or is worsted that is usually what I work with or dose it need to be softer than that? Also is there a particular stitch or pattern that I need to use? How many should I make? I saw that it was stated natural colors – tans. light blues, light greens and such are they okay?? If there is anything else that I need to know please let me know. Oh, and were do I need to send them and by what date?

    Thank-you for allowing me to help with this. I love the fact that I can help to make this blessing a possibility.
    Cheryl Moler

    I also tried to use the email but it would not send so I posted this on facebook.

    • Cheryl, the easiest way to get in touch with Jenifer regarding this blanket is to email her directly. Be sure to change the “AT” and “DOT” in the address listed to “@” and “.” We use the text to evade spam bots that might be trolling our site for email addresses to spam. This particular Jenifer also only has one “n” in her name. Thanks for your interest!

      • Cheryl Moler Says:

        Thanks for the information. I am so looking forward to helping with as many squares as I can. Cheryl

  4. Ardis Says:

    Since you have found that squares in garter stitch stretch too much, do you have a pattern or multiple patterns for squares?? I tried doing the diagonal garter stitch like for baby blankets & dishcloths but it turned out 9″ x 9″ & is very stretchy, so I’ll rip it out & start again. Some patterns would be appreciated??? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

